Church, The Circus School, and Camargo Correa.

by Joshua Millage

Well it is apparent to me how hard it is to keep a blog up-to-date. The internet here sucks so I going to blame it for my lack of posts…

Sunday:

Sunday was a cultural experience. We woke up in the morning and went to a church that one of our professors had relations with when he was a bishop in the Free Methodist Church. This church was very welcoming and gave us many hugs and kisses (literally – I love Brazilians). Dr. Mannoia gave a amazing sermon and then we had a opportunity to talk to the leaders about business principles and how they need to be applied to the church. It was fantastic to see the reception of what we said and it made me realize, again, that there is absolutely a place for business people in the ministry.

That evening we went to another church which was more low-key. Not in terms of charisma, but rather formality. Needless to say it was hard to pay attention in this service because of the Portuguese and the lack of understanding of what was being said. However, I enjoyed it more than the morning service because the people came up to us afterwards and wanted to practice there english with us. One teenager flipped out when I pulled out my iPhone 4 because I guess that Brazil does not get the device til next year.

On monday we had the opportunity to go see a circus school where children who grow up in the favelas (ghettos) come to learn acrobatics. The school’s goal was not to train children to be in the circus but rather to keep them out of trouble and teach them life and business skills to help them get out of the favelas and into a good job to take care of themselves and their families.

Antonio was the individual who ran the operation and it was interesting to me to see a organization who was dependent of the articulation of one makes vision. Antonio is truly a linchpin – completely indispensable. There is so much I can say about this visit… My video should do the talking for me (it will be done in a few days).

Today we went to Camargo Correa which was a large conglomerate of construction and infrastructure companies. It was amazing to talk to people who were so passionate about infrastructure because they know it is needed for Brail to develop.

So far the trip has been something totally different than I expected. It is a true educational experience and very draining. I guess this is what real life feels like…

Im going to bed.

