Ideas are perishable

by Joshua Millage

Have you ever had an idea and then a minute later you totally forgot what it was? This happens to me often.

Recently I have tried to combat this problem with the voice recorder app on my iphone, a random scratch pad for notes, and a plethora of other things. However, I keep failing. This post is not about how to capture ideas – I am not good at that and have not business telling you how to do master the process. This post is about how ideas are perishable.

Recently I read a book (ReWork) that talked about how inspiration is perishable. I completely agree. Basically the chapter in the book talked about how when you have a great idea you need to take it by the horns, stop what you are doing, and get it to a point where you can pick up on it later.

Capture the moment = Capture the idea.

